top of page

The United Nations Security Council (UNSC) is one of the six principal organs of the United Nations, which assumes the important responsibility of maintaining international peace and security whenever threatened. The committee’s main priority is working towards settling disputes through peaceful measures, as an alternative to resolving conflicts through violent means. However, in dire instances, the Security Council may choose to permit the use of force and armed operations in order to secure peace, or impose economic sanctions and other financial penalties on parties. As established by the UN Charter, all UN member states are obligated to abide by Security Council decisions. The committee is composed of ten elected members, and five permanent members which include China, France, the United Kingdom, the Russian Federation, and the United States, commonly referred to as the P5.

UNSC Issue Bulletin #1
UNSC Issue Bulletin #2
bottom of page