top of page

The Human Rights Council (HRC) was created by the United Nations General Assembly on March 15, 2006, with the purpose of promoting and protecting human rights around the world. The Human Rights Council is made up of 47 United Nations Member countries, which are all elected by the UN general assembly. The seats are distributed equally to different regions: thirteen for Africa, thirteen for Asia, six for Eastern Europe, eight for Latin America and the Caribbean, and seven for the Western Europe. Besides strengthening the promotion and protection of human rights, the Human Rights Council also tackles situations where human rights are being violated. The common goal of the participating nations is to find solutions to issues frequently presented in society whilst trying to protect the human rights of the citizens of the world, as described in the United Nations’ Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

Measures to address the dehumanizing conditions in prison systems. 

Measures to address child labor

bottom of page